OMRON Forums

Basic setup for ST development project

nocturnalz

Hi everyone,

I'm new to PLC development, specifically, this question pertains structural text program-only workflow.

I’m currently trying to get together a basic workflow for creating a structural text program-only based environment in Sysmac Studio.

My setup is:

NX1P2-9024DT1

Sysmac Studio v1.54

Windows 11 Pro

I’ve been able to create a new project -> delete the default ladder program0 -> add in a new ST program0 -> and pasted the following:

IF (InputSignal = TRUE) THEN

BIO_Output_Bit_00 := TRUE; // Turns on '00' output

BIO_Output_Bit_09 := TRUE; // Turns on '09' output

ELSE

BIO_Output_Bit_00 := FALSE;

BIO_Output_Bit_09:= FALSE;

END_IF;

And I can add in an HMI with a linked-InputSignal button and linked-BIO_Output_Bit_00 and it will simulate with no issues.

However, I’m trying to achieve a basic hello world-like skeleton ST base script where there is a program entry, variable declarations, etc.

In C, it would be the equivalent:

#include <headers>

#global variables here…

int main()
{
               # some local variables

# main code, etc…
}

In the case of Structural Text, I’ve been reading online and seeing in tutorials, the basic program appears to be:

PROGRAM Main
VAR
    Counter: INT := 0;
END_VAR

METHOD IncrementCounter : BOOL
    Counter := Counter + 1;
    RETURN TRUE;
END_METHOD

METHOD MainTask : BOOL
    IF IncrementCounter() THEN
        // Do something when the counter is incremented successfully
    END_IF

RETURN TRUE;
END_METHOD

However, when I try to add this code or anything similar, Sysmac Studio does not recognize the PROGRAM or VAR/END_VAR or METHOD/END_METHOD keywords.

I’ve gone into more detail in W501 – NJ/NX-series CPU Unit Software User’s Manual but it provides usage details for the different variable types, constructs and expression definitions etc.